John A. Clarke, Ph.D

John Clarke brings considerable experience in mineral exploration, corporate acquisition and development in the gold mining sector in Africa. Dr. Clarke has held roles as Vice-Chairman and CEO of Nevsun Resources and, prior to joining Nevsun, he was Executive Director of Ashanti Goldfields Company Limited of Ghana. He joined Ashanti in 1982 and contributed to establishing Ashanti's gold exploration program throughout sub-Saharan Africa. He is the Director of several companies which have exploration and development activities in Africa. Dr.Clarke holds a B.Sc. in metallurgy from University College Cardiff, a Ph.D. in metallurgy from Cambridge University and an MBA from Middlesex Polytechnic. Mr. Clarke joined the Board on June 17, 2009.

Jed Richardson
President, CEO and Director

Jed Richardson worked at RBC Capital Markets as a Research Associate and at Cormark/Sprott Securities as a Research Analyst. He also worked as a Mining Engineer for Alcan Aluminum after graduating from the University of Toronto. He holds a B.A.Sc in Mineral and Geological Engineering. More recently, he served as the Vice-President of Corporate Development of Amazon Mining (TSX-V: AMZ), a UK-registered company, with potash and gold interests in Brazil. Mr. Richardson, who is based in Toronto, brings considerable expertise to the Management and Board, particularly with his experience in capital markets and his background in the exploration and production of fertilizer. Mr. Richardson joined Great Quest's Board on April 7, 2010 and was appointed President & CEO of the Company on May 13, 2013.

Gordon Peeling

Gordon Peeling was the President of the Mining Association of Canada (MAC) from 1997 to 2011 and brings more than 30 years of mining experience in both the public and private sectors. Prior to MAC, he served as Vice President at the International Council on Metals and the Environment and Director General at both the Mineral Commodities Branch and Mineral Strategy Branch at Natural Resources Canada. Gordon has a B.Sc. (Geology) degree from Queen's University and an M.Sc. (Geology) and a B.A. (Economics) from Carleton University. Mr. Peeling joined the Board on May 16, 2011.

David Shaw

Since completing his doctorate 30 years ago, David Shaw has worked both in the technical and financial communities within the resource industry. Seven years were spent with Chevron Resources in Calgary and Vancouver, employed initially as an in-house structural consultant on both metal and hydrocarbon exploration programs and then as a member of a hydrocarbon project financial evaluation team. Upon leaving Chevron, he initiated and developed the Resource Research Group at Charlton Securities Ltd., Calgary before assuming the position of Senior Mining Analyst, Corporate Finance, at Yorkton Securities Inc. in Vancouver. Throughout David's career, he has built strong relationships with European financial institutions and the global mining community with valuable experience in West Africa. Mr. Shaw joined the Board on December 16, 2010.

Jon Karas

  Mr. Karas is a major force at the intersection of celebrity and social good. He has more than 25 years’ experience in financing a variety of ventures, packaging and producing entertainment and bringing the best businesses and talents to the global market. He is the President of Akoin, a decentralized blockchain-driven financing platform for Africa and other rising economies, which he co-founded with Akon. He is a founding Advisory Board member of Slate Entertainment Group, creator of disruptive crypto-driven gaming activities and content, streaming and ticketing platforms. He also founded the highly successful talent management company Infinity Management International in 1990, which represents top film and television writers, directors, and producers.

(Committee Members and Chairman)

  • Audit Committee: David A. Shaw (Chair) / John A. Clarke  / Gordon Peeling 

  • Nominating, Compensation and Governance: John A. Clarke (Chair) / Gordon Peeling / David A. Shaw

  • Environmental, Health & Safety and Social Responsibility: Gordon Peeling (Chair) / John A. Clarke / David A.Shaw